Times are tough, and people are considering ways to cut back financially, but dropping your auto insurance is definitely not a good way to save money on your monthly budget, because driving without insurance in Florida can end up costing a lot more than your monthly bill for auto insurance in Maitland, FL.
Florida is a “no-fault” insurance state, where vehicle owners are required to carry the minimum amounts of $10,000 for property damage liability (PDL) and $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP). Everyone must have coverage in place before obtaining vehicle registration and tags, and then they must continue to carry it throughout the registration period.
Florida’s First Time Offender Penalties
If your Florida auto policy lapses, your insurance carrier then notifies the state. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will require you to provide proof of new auto insurance coverage, or your license, plates, and registration will be suspended for up to three years. Additionally, the proof of insurance has to show that you had your new insurance in place before your old policy was canceled. Your license, plates, and registration will be suspended, even if the lapse period was only one day.
Subsequent Offenses for Lack of Insurance
Subsequent offenses can be much more expensive. If your auto insurance lapses for a second time within three years of the first lapse, the reinstatement fee increases to $250, and the reinstatement fee goes up to $500 for a third offense.
One More Thing
Your provider issues you a Florida Insurance I.D. card when you first obtain insurance. You must carry it at all times that you are operating your vehicle and show it to any law enforcement officer who asks to see it. If you are asked and do not have it, you may be ticketed.